Books Lists

10 FANTASY BOOKS TO READ IF YOU LOVE HARRY POTTER

Looking for a new fantasy obsession to replace the Harry Potter series? Not sure where to look? Worry not, we've got you covered! Here are 10 fantasy books we think you'll love!

Still trying to get over the Harry Potter series? Looking for another great fantasy story to fall in love with? Luckily, there’s no shortage of magical fantasy tales – and we’re here to help you find your new favourite book series!

ALSO READ – 10 CUTEST MAGICAL CREATURES IN THE WIZARDING WORLD

In the list below, you’ll find our ranking of the ten fantasy books we think you’ll love if you enjoyed J.K. Rowling’s Harry Potter series! I know starting a new book or series can be a daunting experience, but hopefully our ranking can help you find the perfect fantasy book to fill the void left behind by The Boy Who Lived!

Check out our list below:

10. Inkheart By Cornelia Funke

Meggie loves stories, but her father, Mo, hasn’t read to her since her mother disappeared. When a stranger knocks at their door, Mo is forced to reveal an extraordinary secret – when he reads aloud, words come alive, and dangerous characters step out of the pages. Suddenly Meggie is living the kind of adventure she has only read about in books, but this one will change her life for ever.

First book in the Inkheart trilogy!

BUY HERE


9. The Night Circus By Erin Morgenstern

precede it. It is simply there, when yesterday it was not. Within the black-and-white striped canvas tents is an utterly unique experience full of breathtaking amazements. It is called Le Cirque des Rêves, and it is only open at night.

BUY HERE


8. Eragon by Christopher Paolini

When Eragon finds a polished stone in the forest, he thinks it is the lucky discovery of a poor farm boy; perhaps it will buy his family meat for the winter. But when the stone brings a dragon hatchling, Eragon soon realizes he has stumbled upon a legacy nearly as old as the Empire itself.

First book in The Inheritance Cycle!

BUY HERE


7. A Discovery Of Witches by Deborah Harkness

When historian Diana Bishop opens an alchemical manuscript in the Bodleian Library, it’s an unwelcome intrusion of magic into her carefully ordered life. Though Diana is a witch of impeccable lineage, the violent death of her parents while she was still a child convinced her that human fear is more potent than any witchcraft. Now Diana has unwittingly exposed herself to a world she’s kept at bay for years; one of powerful witches, creative, destructive daemons and long-lived vampires.

First instalment of the All Souls trilogy!

BUY HERE


6. City Of Bones by Cassandra Clare

Love. Blood. Betrayal. Demons. First in the New York Times No.1 bestselling series that has swept the globe!

Irresistibly drawn towards a group of demon hunters, Clary encounters the dark side of New York City and the dangers of forbidden love.

BUY HERE


Advertisements

5. The Lion The Witch And The Wardrobe by C.S. Lewis

Four adventurous siblings―Peter, Susan, Edmund, and Lucy Pevensie― step through a wardrobe door and into the land of Narnia, a land frozen in eternal winter and enslaved by the power of the White Witch. But when almost all hope is lost, the return of the Great Lion, Aslan, signals a great change . . . and a great sacrifice.

The first book in the Chronicles Of Narnia series!

BUY HERE


4. The Magicians by Lev Grossman

Quentin Coldwater’s life is changed forever by an apparently chance encounter: when he turns up for his entrance interview to Princeton University, he finds his interviewer dead – but a strange envelope bearing Quentin’s name leads him down a very different path. Instead of Princeton, he finds himself invited to study at Brakebills – a secret college of modern-day sorcerers.

The first instalment of The Magicians trilogy!

BUY HERE


3. The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan

Look, I didn’t want to be a half-blood. I never asked to be the son of a Greek God. I was just a normal kid, going to school, playing basketball, skateboarding. The usual. Until I accidentally vaporized my maths teacher. Now I spend my time battling monsters and generally trying to stay alive. This is the one where Zeus, God of the Sky, thinks I’ve stolen his lightning bolt – and making Zeus angry is a very bad idea.

The first instalment of Rick Riordan’s Percy Jackson And The Olympians series!

BUY HERE


2. Northern Lights/ The Golden Compass by Phillip Pullman

Lyra Belacqua and her animal daemon live half-wild and carefree among scholars of Jordan College, Oxford. The destiny that awaits her will take her to the frozen lands of the Arctic, where witch-clans reign and ice-bears fight. Her extraordinary journey will have immeasurable consequences far beyond her own world.

The first volume in Philip Pullman’s incredible His Dark Materials trilogy.

BUY HERE


1. The Hobbit by J.R.R Tolkein

Bilbo Baggins enjoys a quiet and contented life, with no desire to travel far from the comforts of home; then one day the wizard Gandalf and a band of dwarves arrive unexpectedly and enlist his services – as a burglar – on a dangerous expedition to raid the treasure-hoard of Smaug the dragon. Bilbo’s life is never to be the same again.

J.R.R Tolkien’s first Middle Earth story!

BUY HERE


For Older Readers

If you’re a little bit older and looking to delve deeper into the fantasy genre, you might want to take a look at The Lord Of The Rings by J.R.R. Tolkein, A Song Of Fire And Ice aka. Game Of Thrones by George R.R Martin and The Witcher series by Andrzej Sapkowski.


What great fantasy story will you be reading after the Harry Potter series? Make sure you let us know in the comments section below this post!

2 comments

  1. I love the lord of the rings so much!!! Love it with my whole heart. Still on book 1 though. I saw the movies first . Beautiful!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: